The Long Book of Jeremiah

I will be honest:  Jeremiah depresses and quite literally scares the hell out of me. I have been reading a chapter a day for the last 46 days and I am just now beginning to understand this book’s importance.

There is one overly abundant and intentionally redundant(or so I think) point that Jeremiah makes throughout the chapters: God hates sin. He absolutely hates it. More than we hate #YOLO or swag, or when we pay $5 for a latte and it tastes like garbage–God hates sin. If you don’t feel like you understand how much God hates sin, read slowly through Jeremiah and it will be clear.  Here is a small sample of God’s sentiments, in reference to the day His patience runs out:

“But that day belongs to the Lord, the LordAlmighty—
a day of vengeance, for vengeance on his foes.
The sword will devour till it is satisfied,
till it has quenched its thirst with blood.”                                                                                                                                          -Jeremiah 46:10

It would be pretty terrifying to be one of God’s foes on that day. What’s just as scary is that God still feels that way today. He is eternal, He cannot fluctuate, He cannot change. God still hates sin and that is exactly what makes all the “lovey-dovey” New Testament stuff not so cuddly. If God never sent His Son, we would still be in the mess that Jeremiah found himself in. But Christ did come, and with His death also came the idea of, “satisfaction through substitution.” God’s anger still exists, but His wrath has been satisfied by Christ’s substitution for us.

Whether it was intentional or not, I suppose I will never know, but this depressing book dramatically sets up the beauty of what Christ did on the cross. The only way to properly satisfy His own wrath was to take the punishment Himself. (Read that sentence again.) The more I understand this, the more I will fully understand God’s grace, love and forgiveness.  All three of which are necessary if I want to love others the way that Christ did.

Feel free to e-mail any and all comments or feedback to brandoncarleton@gmail.com or you can contact me through twitter: @bcthegeek

Still figuring it all out. Anxious to learn more.

Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

  • RT @iscoff: Remember, don't stoop to their level. If someone is murdering you, tell them their knife is cool and they're good at stabbing.… 1 day ago
  • RT @InternetHippo: To the horror of loved ones at my funeral I casually rise from the casket to make one last student loan payment 2 days ago
  • RT @SteveSuckington: DR: your IQ test results are abysmal ME: is... is that good? 2 days ago
  • @Big_Andy75 @RetepAdam The raps/twolves played a pre-season game in my town. Peak Vince. He had a wide open break away and laid it up 😐 3 days ago
  • RT @LeBearGirdle: *Heaven* God: you may ask me 1 question Me: Why aren't there lowercase and uppercase numbers? God: what? Me: I wanna… 3 days ago
  • RT @thepunningman: "The bond's Name. James Name" Pleased to... what? "Bond Name's the james" Are you alright? "Bames Nond's having a stronk… 4 days ago
  • RT @mbells: "It's amazing how angry people can be when you take away their religion of revenge." ~ @BrianZahnd 4 days ago
  • The music!! twitter.com/funnyyvine/sta… 1 week ago
  • RT @Maddy_ubert: Dad: Son have I ever told you how proud of you I am? Son: ..no..*smiling and tearing up* D: Thank god, I wouldn't want any… 1 week ago
  • RT @meatypunk: Her: call me crazy, but- Me: crazybutt Her: Me: *flashback fades into present-day court* Her: and so I killed him Judge: y… 1 week ago
