What shall I do Lord?

 ‘What shall I do, Lord?’ I asked.  ‘Get up,’ the Lord said, ‘and go into Damascus. There you will be told all that you have been assigned to do.’ (Acts 22:10 NIV)

At this point in Acts, Paul was explaining his story to an angry, rioting mob in Jerusalem. They wanted to kill him because he wanted to set them free from the law. Wait…what? They liked life under the law!? That’s a whole ‘nother story. Aaaanyways. (Nacho Libre) While on Damascus road, Paul explains that he spoke with Jesus. The fact that Paul heard the audible sound of Jesus’ voice is astounding, we could marvel at that and I could stop typing. Jesus is real, He talks to us, how cool!!

I did, however, find this other bit interesting. (maybe comforting is more appropriate)  I myself have never heard God’s audible voice.  Whenever I hear from Him it’s usually through His word, or during prayer or worship. So I have to admit, if I was Paul and I had the chance to talk to Jesus, I would be sort of ticked with how it ended. “Wait.. go to Damascus? I’m right here, YOU are right here… Just tell me what I am assigned to do now and let’s save everyone some time!”

I’m learning that God will do this. I can’t think of an example where He lays out, start to finish, all the details He has for how He will make His plans work. It sort of similar to how we tell a kid “We are going to the zoo.” We don’t say, “Since daddy worked 40 hours this week, he received money from his boss. Now that we have that money, we are going to go to the ATM. That involves getting in the car. Which by the way, we got this car by…” We don’t give all the details! The child accepts it, goes to the zoo and has a blast. The child doesn’t sit and stress about all the details.

So next time we are frustrated about an uncertain future, we can remember that even when Jesus audibly speaks to people, He doesn’t give away the whole plan. Even when Jesus speaks to a ‘spiritual giant’* He doesn’t give away the whole plan.  Paul gives us the perfect example of the right thing to do: simply ask “What shall I do Lord?” then do it!

*- James sort of puts an end to the whole spiritual giant thing anyways, they were guys “just like us”, they just decided to say yes. (James 5:17)

Still figuring it all out. Anxious to learn more.

Posted in Life
4 comments on “What shall I do Lord?
  1. joseph says:

    I Think God Has A dEsired outcomeS For Our Live But Still Gives Us Choices Of How We WAnt To GetTo The zoo

    • I think that is true… and it works out well for wiser, more mature people. In the past I have tried to determine how to get to the zoo and, due to the fact that I hardly know what I am doing, I have ended up at the veterinary clinic. I keep making the mistake of thinking I have all the answers and not relying on His guidance.

  2. Bryant says:

    This is a really good reminder! Good job brandon.

Leave a Reply

