Potluck Time!

Then Jesus said to his host, “When you give a luncheon or dinner, do not invite your friends, your brothers or sisters, your relatives, or your rich neighbors; if you do, they may invite you back and so you will be repaid.  But when you give a banquet, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed. Although they cannot repay you, you will be repaid at the resurrection of the righteous.” – Luke 14:12-14

(Okay, quick side note, how awesome is it that the NIV uses the word “luncheon?”.  I checked the Message version and sadly it doesn’t employ the use of “potluck” in place of luncheon.)

Lately, God has been challenging me to see people the way He sees them.  How does He see them? God sees everyone as equal, all covered by His grace.  He loves the devoted pastor who spends hours each day praying as much as He loves the worst, seemingly unpardonable sinner.  God is not and cannot be inconsistent, so His love cannot be inconsistent.  If His love has no beginning, then His love cannot have an end.

I used to make the mistake of seeing people through a lens of what they could do for me personally. Can they make my life easier? Do they give my ego a boost?  Can they do me a favor?  This would cause me to treat people differently.  I need to start seeing people through a lens of God’s love for them instead.  God calls us to love people no matter what, even if they can’t do anything for us.  Better yet, according to Luke 14, we are to love people especially if they can’t do anything for us.  This has really been putting my attitude and behavior towards others in a new perspective.

Ask yourself: Do I play favorites?  Do I go out of my way for people who can offer me nothing in return? Do I love people as God loves them?

On a DIY side note, I recently made these bird feeders as a Mother’s Day present and they turned out great… I think. :)

A DIY Mother's Day gift

A DIY Mother’s Day gift

Feel free to e-mail any and all comments or feedback to brandoncarleton@gmail.com or you can contact me through twitter: @bcthegeek

Still figuring it all out. Anxious to learn more.

Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

