I Ain’t Got What It Takes

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. – Galatians 2:20

I will be honest, this is a verse I still haven’t quite figured out. How do I do this? How do I “no longer live,” but have “Christ live in me?”  I have heard it a lot and maybe you have too, “You must not live by your own strength.”  I feel like almost every morning I pray something similar to, “Lord, teach me how to do this! Teach me how to live by Your strength.”  I still don’t totally understand it, but I would like to create a conversation to help me understand it more clearly.

From what I can make of it, to rely on Christ means to use His resources instead of my resources.  When I am in need of a resource, such as; strength, wisdom, hope, etc..  I am to say, “Lord, please give me Your strength,” or “Jesus, please give me Your perseverance, through this tough time.”  I feel like it begins with admitting that I don’t have what it takes. Also, I am starting to realize that my version of “strength” is always terribly inadequate for the situation I find myself in. If God is eternal, that means so are His attributes.  Since His strength had no beginning, that means His strength has no end.  He has infinite resources for us who believe, or as Paul put it ” live by faith in the Son of God.”

So that’s what I am doing.  When I need wisdom, I ask God to grant me wisdom.  When I have a need, I look to God’s resources and not my own resources.  I am curious though, how do you practically live out this verse?  How does this idea work?  What does it look like in your life?  I’m looking for help on this one!  What do you understand this verse to mean?

Feel free to e-mail any and all comments or feedback to brandoncarleton@gmail.com or you can contact me through twitter: @bcthegeek

___________________________________

For those wanting a bit more of the theology side:  The Bible says that, among other things, Jesus will: give me rest, give me hope and “take my yoke.” (Rom. 15:4, Matt. 11:28-30)  Also, Scripture says that the Holy Spirit, amongst other things, will; comfort us, give us wisdom, guide us, convict us.(2 Cor. 1:4, Lk. 21:15, Jn. 16:8,13) So this means that God (the Godhead/Trinity) is there for me when I am tired, hopeless, heavy burdened, worried, unsure, lost and confused as to what is right and wrong. Also, even more amazing, the Bible says that we are actually at our strongest when we are in our weakness. (2 cor 12:9)

Still figuring it all out. Anxious to learn more.

Posted in Life
One comment on “I Ain’t Got What It Takes
  1. laurie says:

    I camped out on that verse for a long time too. Recently, I memorized Colossians 1:11– May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy. (Colossians 1:11 ESV)
    After thinking it through and reading a few commentaries, I learned a few things. God’s strength is is not the grim strength of gritting your teeth, but the glory-strength that only God can give. Strength that endures the unendurable and spills over in joy. I love that I can rely on His Power to give me whatever strength I may need for any given moment or circumstance. So much better than gritting my teeth. :)

Leave a Reply

