Recess & Kickball

Well, I was just complaining, sort of.  A few moments ago, while at work, I was talking to a co-worker about the crazy thunderstorms our area had last night.  Saying, “The storm woke me up,” and “our apartment has really bad windows, so it seemed twice as loud.”  I went on to explain how our apartment, next to the church’s school, butts up right against where the kids have recess.  (Imagine a fenced in rectangle and one of the sides isn’t a fence, but rather our apartment.) So when recess starts, it sounds like they are playing kickball in our bedroom.

Let me pause to briefly explain my co-worker Brad.  I have gotten to know him somewhat well over the last year.  He used to be in the Marines, he has two kids, quite a few tattoos and even though he is a lot smaller than me, I wouldn’t want to fight him.  Half of what he talks about is spending his weekends with his kids and the other half, he tells stories that slightly scare me.  It’s definitely a weird mix.

Okay, back to the story.  So after I explained the “recess dilemma,” Brad said, “That’s awesome. There is nothing cooler than when I hear my kids in the backyard laughing and playing.”  Dang. He was right.  He totally challenged me to see it as a gift and not as a burden!

God can speak to you through anyone! Whether the person is a Christian or not, “holy” or not, or even trying to or not.  God spoke to Baal through a donkey!

Are you on the look out for God’s voice? Is there anywhere you don’t look for God?

Feel free to e-mail any and all comments or feedback to brandoncarleton@gmail.com or you can contact me through twitter: @bcthegeek

Still figuring it all out. Anxious to learn more.

Posted in Life
2 comments on “Recess & Kickball
  1. joseph says:

    Kickball is better than baseball…one breaks your thin windows.

Leave a Reply

