Brain Soap

Disclaimer: If you are reading this on your phone and have company around you, (Spouse, friends, etc.) please stop reading this and be with who you are with

           A while back, a friend of mine made an interesting comment and it has stuck with me ever since. It was in response to a remark I made about seeing something that I wanted to “un-see”.  He said, “I once had an idea for a t-shirt that read on the front, “Brain Soap” and on the back, have a picture of the Bible.” I love this idea, maybe not for a t-shirt design, but I love the idea of Brain Soap. At the time, we both laughed at the concept and then carried on, not really thinking much of it.  But now, when I hear or see something that I wish I hadn’t, I think about the idea of Brain Soap.  Recently, God has been challenging me with how filthy my brain is getting and how frequently I am washing it.  

           I am guilty of polluting my mind via social media and God has been working on me in this area.  I have made a habit, before I go to bed, to grab my phone and peruse through my twitter feed before I fall asleep. Similarly, when I wake up in the morning, I will grab my phone and give my twitter feed my full attention. I felt like God was saying, “You mean to tell me, that the first and last thing you do every day is get the world’s point of view on life?” Please don’t get the idea that I am attempting to create a Footloose society ,where not dancing but social media is outlawed. I am not trying to create any disdain for social media.  I simply feel it is smart to take a step back and evaluate the side effects (positive and/or negative) of something that is such a huge part of our lives. Here are some evaluative questions I asked myself:  

Who am I following?

           If you show me a man’s twitter feed, I will be able to tell you his tendencies.  It is a simple equation: What goes in, comes out. (Gal. 6:7-9)  If you follow comedians that tweet crude jokes, I would be willing to bet that you also find yourself telling crude jokes.  If you follow people who tend to complain a lot, I would not be surprised if you too where an avid complainer.  Unfortunately, this is how the human brain works.

When am I reading my Facebook timeline/Twitter feed?

           This question was largely inspired by a song/spoken word called Be Present by Propaganda. (Starts at minute:)  Here I am, lying in bed next to my wife and I can’t give her my full attention?  Wouldn’t talking to her, or the both of us talking to God, be a better way to end our day? (This spoken word also inspired the disclaimer at the top of my blog.) Married or single, it applies the same; Are you getting God’s point of view or someone elses? The other angle of this question is; When are you reading your timeline in relation to everything else?  God has challenged me to go to bed reading His Word or a book based off it, instead of reading twitter.  He has challenged me to get up before work so I can read the Bible and have His point of view be the foundation of my day.

What are your thoughts?

Feel free to e-mail any comments and feedback to brandoncarleton@gmail.com or you can contact me through twitter: @bcthegeek.  I promise, I won’t check before I go to bed!

Still figuring it all out. Anxious to learn more.

Posted in Life
One comment on “Brain Soap
  1. dan says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I spend more time checking Twitter, Facebook, and reading brother-in-law blogs than spending time in the Word or just some quality time with the wife. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

